Updating PSP into CFW 3.90 M33-2!

I’ve been having so much fun playing and exploring my PSP that’s why I always bring it with me wherever I go and I couldn’t imagine a day without it because for me, it always saves the day whenever I’m bored in the office and when the bosses are not around(LOL). Aside from gaming, video and music, I was able to install some apps which provided me with more features.

But since I’m a bit newbie with updates, I never tried to modify or install a new firmware(note: I’m using a custom firmware for my PSP that’s why it’s risky to update compared with official firmware) and I had my first PSP pre-installed with custom firmware. But out of curiosity, I installed the latest version 3.90 M33-2 from dark-alex’s website and fortunately I successfully installed the firmware.

Before installing, I searched for instructions available from the net. some are simple, and some are complicated so I will post here a simplified direction in updating custom firmware:

Warning: A failed update may result to Crashing your PSP system making it bricked. You are doing this at your own risk and I am not responsible for any loss or damage that may occur during the process.

Requirements:

Steps:

  1. rename the official firmware filename “EBOOT.PBP” into “390.PBP”
  2. copy the UPDATE folder from 3.90 M33-2 into PSP/GAME directory of your memory stick
  3. copy 390.PBP into the PSP/GAME/UPDATE” folder along with 3.90 M33 in your memory stick.
  4. run the update from your PSP.
  5. press L + triangle until you see “Veryfing 390.PBP”.
  6. follow the instructions displayed by the installer.

11 thoughts on “Updating PSP into CFW 3.90 M33-2!

  1. Is that so? I’m not sure but I think if you’re using the “fat” PSP, there is a need to install the 1.5 kernel addon to enable the use of homebrew apps.

  2. try to access the recovery mode, go to configurations, then to UMD mode and keep pressing x until you see sony NP9660, back and exit from the recovery then try to play ISO/CSO. When I changed that setting, I encountered the same error so that should be the problem.

  3. rocky says:

    aftr updating frm 3.71m33 to 3.90m33…i cant see my photos and songs…n they r still there in 8gb memory card…bt my games on card of 8gb is working…wat to do bro to listen 2 song n see pics on it??

  4. I think whatever OS you have on your computer doesn’t matter as long as you can download the necessary files for upgrading/downgrading your PSP. What’s important is the firmware of your PSP, you can ask or read from forum discussions for more enlightenment, that’s what I do and I usually learn what I want.

  5. Maz says:

    Hi, I hope you can help me, I am a novice when it comes to firmware. I have had PSP slim and lite 2000 UK PAL (format) for a couple of months. Could you tell me what and how to install firmware so that I can play different games from different regions?

    Any help or input would be most appreciated.

  6. Are you using official firmware? having a custom firmware can play any region. Unfortunately, I can’t help you with your problem since each firmware update procedure is different based on what type or version your PSP firmware has. But there are a lot of sites/forums that can help you with your problem.

Leave a Reply

